Masaaki Suzuki

Sherezade Panthaki

Fabiana González

Dann Coakwell

Dashon Burton

Bruce Lamott








Masaaki Suzuki, conductor

Soloists alumni from Yale University’s Schola Cantorum

Sherezade Panthaki, soprano

Claire Kelm, , soprano

Fabiana González, alto

Dann Coakwell, tenor

Dashon Burton, bass-baritone


Philharmonia Chorale, Bruce Lamott, director

Founder and director of Bach Collegium Japan, Masaaki Suzuki conducts Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and Chorale for the first time in a joyous evening of Christmas music by Johann Sebastian Bach. Maestro Suzuki hand-picked the four brilliant soloists; all recent graduates from his exclusive Schola Cantorum at Yale University.

This iconic program of familiar masterworks includes the Orchestral Suite No 3, best known for the lyrical “Air on the G String.” Christen, ätzet diesen Tag, Bach’s first known Christmas Cantata is paired with his later, virtuosic Magnificat; performed here in its original setting with the Christmas motets and text restored.



BACH Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068

BACH Cantata No. 63 Christen, ätzet diesen Tag, BWV 63

BACH Magnificat in E-flat major, BWV 243a


Learn More

Pre-concert talk at 7:15 pm: “Bach’s Leipzig Trumpeters” with John Thiessen, Kathryn Adduci, Bill Harvey, and Fred Holmgren*

(*6:45 pm on Sunday, December 16)


Masaaki Suzuki conducting Bach Collegium Japan in a performance of Bach’s St. John Passion (excerpt):