Rachel Podger








Rachel Podger, violin and leader
Elizabeth Blumenstock, violin
Katherine Kyme, violin
Carla Moore, violin

Rachel Podger leads the forces of Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra on a whirlwind journey across eighteenth century Italy in this fiery set of concerti for one, two and four violins. Podger blazes through Vivaldi’s Venice, Corelli’s Ravenna and Pergolesi’s Naples, arriving triumphantly in Rome, home to Mossi and Locatelli. Along the way she is joined by Philharmonia Baroque concertmasters Elizabeth Blumenstock, Katherine Kyme and Carla Moore.

One of the most creative talents to emerge in the field of period performance, Podger was leader of The English Concert from 1997 to 2002. In 2004 Rachel began a guest directorship with The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, touring Europe and the USA. Collaborations special to her have been those with Arte dei Suonatori (Poland), Musica Angelica and Santa Fe Pro Musica (USA), The Academy of Ancient Music, The European Union Baroque Orchestra and the Holland Baroque Society (Great Britain).

CORELLI Concerto Grosso No. 1 in D major, Op. 6
VIVALDI Concerto for Violin in A major, RV 348
from La cetra, Op. 9 No. 2
MOSSI Concerto for Four Violins in G minor, Op. 4 No. 12
VIVALDI Concerto for Two Violins in A major, RV 519
from L’estro armonico, Op. 3 No. 5
PERGOLESI Concerto for Violin in B-flat major
LOCATELLI Concerto for Four Violins in F major No. 12, Op. 4


Learn More
Pre-concert talk at 7:15 pm*
(*6:45 pm on Sunday, March 17)

Rachel Podger and Vivaldi’s Le cetra


Baroque Violin