Music from Imperial Saint Petersburg


Anna Dennis

Steven Fox


Tanya Tomkins

Philharmonia brings four early Russian composers to the Bay Area for the first time. Dmitri Bortniansky’s Sinfonia Concertante is a rich example of early Russian Classicism. Maksym Berezovsky’s Symphony in C major is thought to be the first Russian symphony. Anna Dennis, the brilliant young English soprano, makes her Bay Area debut singing arias by Mikhail Glinka, as arranged by Rimsky-Korsakov, and Philharmonia cellist Tanya Tomkins solos in Facius’s Concerto for Violoncello in D minor. This program is led by Steven Fox, Artistic Director of the New York Clarion Society.

Steven Fox, conductor
Anna Dennis, soprano
Tanya Tomkins, violoncello

On the program:

Symphony in C major

Suite from Alcide

Concerto for Violoncello in D minor, Op. 3

Dance of the Blessed Spirits from Orpheus

Suite from Le fils rival
Sinfonia Concertante

Three Arias (arr. Rimsky-Korsakov)

Want to read the program notes before the concert? You can! Just click here.

Join us prior to each performance for a pre-concert recital by the Philharmonia Chamber Players featuring Lisa Weiss & Kati Kyme, violin, Anthony Martin, viola, and William Skeen, violoncello. Each pre-concert recital begins 45 minutes before the main performance.