Nicholas McGegan

Emanuel Ax








Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Emanuel Axfortepiano

Get ready for a once in a lifetime experience. Hear one of the world’s great pianists in an intimate setting performing one of the central works of the repertoire, for the first time with period instruments. Emanuel Ax makes his Philharmonia Baroque debut with Beethoven’s fourth piano concerto on the fortepiano.

Beethoven composed his fourth symphony and fourth piano concerto for performance at the same concert in March 1807. Music Director Nicholas McGegan conducts, revealing the revolutionary genius of Beethoven middle-period. Hear them performed as they must have sounded that very evening in Vienna.


BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
BEETHOVEN 12 Contredanses for Orchestra, WoO 14
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60


Learn More
Read the Program Notes. click here

Prelude Discussion with William Meredith, Ph.D.; Director, The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies; Executive Director, The American Beethoven Society and Professor, School of Music and Dance, San Jose State University at 7:15 PM*
(*6:45 PM on Sunday, November 11)

Emanuel Ax discusses Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4: