Mozart & Haydn: A Tale of Two Cities


September Program

September 22-25
Atherton, San Francisco, Berkeley

Nicholas McGegan

R.J. Kelley


Nicholas McGegan, conductor
R.J. Kelley, horn

MOZART: Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504
MOZART : Concerto pasticcio for Horn in E-flat major, K. 370b/495/371
BECK: Overture from La mort d’Orphée
HAYDN: Symphony No. 98 in B-flat major

Pre-concert talk at 7:15 PM*
(*6:45 PM on Sunday, September 25)

Haydn: Symphony No. 80 in D-flat Minor (Finale: Presto – excerpt)
(Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra)

Read program notes for these concerts.


Flush with gratitude for Prague’s enthusiastic reception of The Marriage of Figaro, Mozart composed his Symphony No. 38 in D Major, K. 504 “Prague” in December 1786. Boisterous, tuneful, and operatic, the symphony was a smash hit with Mozart’s Czech fans and has remained a favorite ever since. The concert includes a reconstruction of Mozart’s incomplete Concerto for Horn and Orchestra in E-flat Major, assembled from scattered fragments of the first movement as well as a recently-discovered manuscript of the second movement.

Two compositions by Mozart’s colleagues round out the program. Franz Beck introduced his ballet-heroïque “La Mort d’Orphée” at Bordeaux’s Grand Theatre in 1784; the ballet music has been lost, but the Overture survived due to its immense popularity—so much so that French impresarios sometimes substituted it for Gluck’s original overture to Orphée et Eurydice.

The magnificent Symphony No. 98 in B-flat Major by Joseph Haydn dates from 1792, during Haydn’s first London visit; it is unique amongst Haydn’s late symphonies in including a short fortepiano cadenza in the last movement, played by Haydn himself at the premiere, undoubtedly to the delight of his legions of London fans.

More Information

Nicholas McGegan
R.J. Kelley
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Franz Joseph Haydn