skip to Main Content

Join us for PBO’s 2019 Winter Gala
To support PBO’s artistic and education initiatives

Honoring star mezzo-soprano Anne Sofie von Otter and
Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw

with countertenor Daniel Moody.

Friday March 1, 2019 │6:30 PM│Four Seasons Hotel, San Francisco

This year we honor mezzo-soprano ANNE SOFIE VON OTTER and composer CAROLINE SHAW, who will join forces with Music Director Nicholas McGegan, countertenor Daniel Moody, and members of the Orchestra for a lively evening of music, wine, and festivities.

Gala Chair Melanie P. Peña and Board Vice President Mark Perry


  • Silent auction featuring one-of-a-kind items 
  • Cocktail reception and an exquisite three-course dinner 
  • Festive after-party with a robust scotch tasting and strolling desserts 

“Von Otter has honed the art of singing to such a point that she is purely expressive, no matter what she’s singing. She can be brassy…she can be straightforward or she can be purely, limpidly beautiful.”

— The Washington Post


“Shaw raids the vocal traditions of different eras and cultures in order to assemble something fresh and yet familiar, but only just.”


Official Gala Sponsors
Mark Perry + Melanie Peña

After Party Sponsors
David Low + Dominique Lahaussois

Gala Dinner Sponsor
Kay Sprinkel Grace

Wine Sponsor

The Estate of Dr. Ross E. Armstrong
Steve John + Jason Snyder
Anne + Jeffrey Katz
Frederick Matteson + Anne Davidson Barr
Carol + Douglas Tanner

Kathleen + Martin Cohn
Charlotte Gaylord + Barrie Cowan
Kate + David Gross
Cynthia + Peter Hibbard
Brian M. Kincaid + Elizabeth C. Theil
Martine Kraus
Didier LeGall
Rebecca Moyle + Tyler Lange
Sondra Schlesinger
Susan + Paul Sugarman

Helen Berggruen
Norman Bookstein + Gillian Kuehner
Richard Caplin
Ashley Crawford
Grace + Laurance Hoagland
Steve John + Jason Snyder
Carlene Laughlin
William Lokke
Robert Mison
Pamela + Richard Rigg
Christopher Wiseman
Dennis Zhang


2019 Gala Committee

Melanie P. Peña, Gala Chair

Nicholas McGegan
Waverley Fund Music Director

Bruce Lamott
Philharmonia Chorale Director

Charlotte Gaylord

Steve John

Anne Katz

Brian Kincaid

Bill Lueth, President KDFC

Rik Malone, KDFC

Robert Mison

Rebecca Moyle

Rachael Myrow, KQED

Jason Snyder

Close search


Back To Top
×Close search