skip to Main Content

The 2019/20 season reflects Nic’s farewell vision—an incredible juxtaposition of Baroque, Classical, Romantic and new music with works by Handel, Bach, and Mozart shining their light and influence on new works—beginning with a stunning new work commissioned by PBO from Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw. Then, following its critically-acclaimed premiere at National Sawdust in Brooklyn, Philharmonia will bring Handel’s Aci, Galatea e Polifemo—a modern interpretation featuring today’s most important operatic stars, including countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo—for seven intimate, gut-wrenching performances. The season concludes with a lush, fully-staged production of Leclair’s opera Scylla et Glaucus with four performances at Herbst Theatre in San Francisco followed by a tour to Versailles. We hope you’ll join us as we celebrate the visionary dreams of a conductor fully realized in his final season at PBO.

The 2019/20 season reflects Nic’s farewell vision—an incredible juxtaposition of Baroque, Classical, Romantic and new music with works by Handel, Bach, and Mozart shining their light and influence on new works—beginning with a stunning new work commissioned by PBO from Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw. Then, following its critically-acclaimed premiere at National Sawdust in Brooklyn, Philharmonia will bring Handel’s Aci, Galatea e Polifemo—a modern interpretation featuring today’s most important operatic stars, including countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo—for seven intimate, gut-wrenching performances. The season concludes with a lush, fully-staged production of Leclair’s opera Scylla et Glaucus with four performances at Herbst Theatre in San Francisco followed by a tour to Versailles. We hope you’ll join us as we celebrate the visionary dreams of a conductor fully realized in his final season at PBO.

A Cosmic Notion
World Premiere by Caroline Shaw
OCT 17-20, 2019

SHAW The Listeners
HANDEL Eternal Source of Light Divine

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Arwen Myers, soprano
Avery Amereau, contralto
Reginald Mobley, countertenor
Dashon Burton, bass-baritone
Philharmonia Chorale, Bruce Lamott, director

Thursday October 17 | 8 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Friday October 18 | 7:30 PM
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto
Saturday October 19 | 8 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday October 20 | 4 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley

Mozart’s Musings
with Jeannette Sorrell
NOV 13-17, 2019

MOZART Overture to La finta semplice, K. 51
GRÉTRY Orchestral suite from Zémire et Azor
MOZART Concerto for Oboe in C major, K. 314
MOZART Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Jeannette Sorrell, conductor
Gonzalo X. Ruiz, oboe

Wednesday November 13 | 7:30 PM
Bing Concert Hall, Stanford
Friday November 15 | 8 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Saturday November 16 | 8 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday November 17 | 4 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley

Handel’s Judas Maccabaeus
DEC 5-8, 2019

HANDEL Judas Maccabaeus

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Robin Johannsen, soprano
Sara Couden, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Phan, tenor
Anthony Reed, bass
Philharmonia Chorale, Bruce Lamott, director

Thursday December 5 | 7 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Friday December 6 | 7:30 PM
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto
Saturday December 7 | 7 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday December 8 | 4 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley

Special Event Series – Add On Only

Handel’s Aci, Galatea e Polifemo
JAN 22–FEB 1, 2020

HANDEL Aci, Galatea e Polifemo

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Lauren Snouffer, soprano
Anthony Roth Costanzo, countertenor
Davóne Tines, bass-baritone
Philharmonia Baroque Chamber Players

Christopher Alden, stage direction
Mark Grey, sound & video design
JAX Messenger, lighting design
Terese Wadden, costume design
Paul Tate dePoo III, set design

GALA/OPENING NIGHT PERFORMANCE
Wednesday January 22 | 8 PM
Taube Atrium Theater, Wilsey Center for Opera, SF

Friday January 24 | 8 PM
Saturday January 25 | 8 PM
Sunday 26 January | 3 PM
Wednesday January 29| 8 PM
Friday January 31 | 8 PM
Saturday February 1 | 8 PM
ODC Theater, San Francisco

7

The Well-Caffeinated Clavier

With Music Director Designate Richard Egarr
FEB 7–9, 2020

BACH Harpsichord Concerto No. 7 in G minor, BWV 1058
BACH Cantata No. 211, Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211, “Coffee Cantata”
BACH Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052
BACH Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068

Richard Egarr, conductor & harpsichord
Nola Richardson, soprano
James Reese, tenor
Cody Quattlebaum, bass-baritone

Friday February 7 | 8 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Saturday February 8 | 8 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday February 9 | 4 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Wednesday February 12 | 7:30 PM
Bing Concert Hall, Stanford

5

Romantic Reflections
With Alana Youssefian
MAR 11–15, 2020

CHERUBINI Overture to Démophoon
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944, “The Great”

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Alana Youssefian, violin

Wednesday March 11 | 7:30 PM
Bing Concert Hall, Stanford
Friday March 13 | 8 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Saturday March 14 | 8 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday March 15 | 4 PM
First Congregational Church, Berkeley

6

Leclair’s Scylla et Glaucus
Fully Staged Opera!
APRIL 15–19, 2020

LECLAIR Scylla et Glaucus

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Chantal Santon, soprano (Scylla)
Aaron Sheehan, haute-contre (Glaucus)
Véronique Gens, soprano (Circé)
Judith van Wanroij, soprano (Vénus, Témire, Dorine)
Douglas Williams, baritone (Licas)

New York Baroque Dance Company
Les Chantres de la Maîtrise du
Centre de musique baroque de Versailles

Catherine Turocy, stage direction & choreography
Marie Anne Chiment, costume design
Pierre Dupouey, lighting & set design

Wednesday April 15 | 8 PM
Friday April 17 | 8 PM
Saturday April 18 | 8 PM
Sunday April 19 | 3 PM
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

All dates, venues, and programming subject to change.

Close search
Back To Top